RSS Feed

Recipe – Pesto, Goats Cheese and Tomato Tart

I have been trying to make the most of my last week off before returning back to work on Monday…

Friends have been to visit:

I treated myself to a few hours at the salon, going from this…

To this…

And I had a coffee and a little treat by the river with my favourite view in Bath:

We have got Ian’s parents staying with us for a few days, which means we also get the pleasure of gorgeous George, who is currently lying fast asleep on my lap as I type this!

We went on a lovely walk this afternoon in the sun but unfortunately got caught in a big hail storm so returned home rather bedraggled, although we did see a double rainbow which kind of cancelled out feeling a bit cold and damp!

Yesterday, we had two of our best friends over for dinner and as I knew I was going to be tied up until quite late in the day I planned a menu that would take minimum effort for maximum flavour.

Today, I will share the starter with you which is really easy to make and requires only 4 ingredients:

Ingredients

A roll of puff pastry (I always buy this ready-made)

A jar of pesto

A handful of cherry tomatoes, roughly sliced

About 100g of goats cheese

How to make it

  • Preheat your oven to 180°C, Gas Mark 4
  • Unroll your pastry and, if needed, trim the edges with a sharp knife so that it fits onto the baking tray you want to use
  • Using a fork, prick the pastry all over
  • Using a sharp knife, score a border around the edge of the pastry
  • Spread the pesto with the border of the pastry
  • Place the tomatoes on the tart (you can place them neat rows if you want or just scatter them for the ‘rustic’ look)
  • Sprinkle the goats cheese over the top (tip – make sure all of your guests like goats cheese before you decide to serve this at a dinner party!)
  • Season with salt and pepper
  • Pop into the oven for about 20 minutes or until the pastry is golden brown
  • Serve warm with a green salad

Variations

You can change this recipe slightly to make individual tarts or one large pastry item.

There is no end to the ways you can adapt this recipe to reflect your tastes and here are some more ideas:

  • Roasted vegetables and Feta Cheese
  • Tomato and Mozzarella Cheese
  • Courgette and Parmesan Cheese
  • Chicken, Pesto and Spinach
  • Tomato, Ham and Cheddar Cheese
  • Bacon and Gruyère Cheese
  • Butternut Squash and Feta
  • Tomato and Ricotta Cheese
  • Leek and Bacon

You can also add sweet toppings with a jam, custard or cream base:

  • Peach and Nectarine
  • Apple
  • Pear
  • Rhubarb
  • Plum
  • Mixed Berries
  • Apple and Raisin

Tomorrow…my paella recipe!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

4 responses »

  1. Great sounding tart. I love you new hair style…very flattering.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

