RSS Feed

Recipe – Courgette, Goats Cheese and Lemon Pasta

Today’s recipe is a light, fresh pasta dish that works both hot and cold so I recommend making a big batch so you can enjoy it again cold for lunch the following day!

I have included the quantities I used but this is a recipe you can really play around with depending on whether you want a hint of lemon or a definite blast of it going through the dish. I used goats cheese but this would also work well with feta – just make sure that you crumble in the cheese right at the end of cooking, or after you have dished up, so that you aren’t left with a sticky lump of pasta as it melts!

Finally, I tried a new type of pasta when I made this dish (reginette) and on reflection it was a little too ‘big’ so I would recommend using a thinner pasta, such as spaghetti or linguine, for this recipe.

Ingredients

A glug of olive oil

2 garlic cloves, finely chopped

2 courgettes, halved and sliced

Salt and pepper

Enough pasta for two people

1 lemon (zest and juice)

A good handful of goats cheese, crumbled or roughly chopped (I used about 100g)

How to make it

  • Begin by heating the oil in a non-stick frying pan on a medium heat
  • Add the garlic to the pan and after a few minutes add the courgettes, stirring until the courgettes have turned golden brown
  • In the meantime, cook the pasta in boiling water until al dente
  • Season the courgettes with salt and pepper and then add the lemon zest (my lemon was quite small so I used the zest of the whole fruit)
  • Add the pasta to the frying pan and mix well until the pasta is coated in the courgette, garlic and lemon. At this point, you can add a bit more oil if your pasta seems a bit dry
  • Place your pasta in serving bowls, add a squeeze of fresh lemon then crumble the goats cheese over the top
  • Add more salt and pepper if needed and enjoy!
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

