RSS Feed

How To…Make a Sequin Easter Egg

Yesterday was glorious, so we decided a long country walk and some exploring was in order.

We started in the fields behind our garden…

Went over stiles…

And down country roads…

Before rewarding ourselves with a few ciders at the local beer garden…

Spring was everywhere…

And we also managed to find the tamest squirrel…

Today’s ‘How To’ is an Easter craft. I love to change the décor of my home with the seasons and since we have moved I have the urge to make things for the house, rather than buy them, so they are truly unique.

These little Faberge-style eggs can be made for a few pounds and you can choose the colours to suit your colour scheme. I went for pretty pastel green, pearl and pink sequins as I thought they were quite Easter-y.

I have only finished one of my three eggs, so I was contemplating whether or not to post this today, or wait until I had finished properly but I thought one egg was enough to give you an idea of the final result and it also means there is enough time to make your own before the Easter weekend.

You will need:

Polystyrene eggs (I went for ones about 12 cm tall)

Craft pins (I went for 13mm gold ones)

Sequins (any colour)

How to make it:

  • Begin by pushing a pin through the centre of a sequin
  • The polystyrene egg should have a slightly raised line going around the middle of the egg – I recommend sequinning this line first so that you have a good starting point to continue from

  • Very simply, carry on pushing pins through the sequins into the polystyrene continuing the circular pattern in rows until the egg is covered

This isn’t too fiddly a task – I actually found it quite therapeutic – and it took a couple of hours in front of the TV to finish one egg.

I hope my camera has picked up the pearlescent quality of the sequins as they really do look very pretty…although they also reminded me of little nipples as I was making it! Ha!

I haven’t quite decided how or where I will display my finished eggs, but for now it will sit on my dining table, surrounded by mini eggs, and I will test my will by trying not to eat them before Ian gets home tonight!

Do let me know if you have a go at this craft…I would love to compare results! xxx

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

3 responses »

  1. I just showed this post to my 12 year old daughter and we love it. I’ve got to find the time to make one at least. Thanks for the cute idea.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Floral Bunting | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

