RSS Feed

March Favourites

Welcome to April…is anyone else wondering where the first three months of this year have gone?!

Worried that every sunny day may be our last for a little while, I have been out in the garden this morning tackling a few DIY projects, all fuelled by cups of tea! I will of course post some before and after pictures when I’m done.

Having only rented in the past, Ian and I don’t have much experience of DIY-ing and decorating but we are thoroughly enjoying having a go. However, one thing that no one told us was just how long everything takes! I blame programmes like Changing Rooms and other speedy makeover shows for making it look so quick and easy…we have been stripping the walls of our living room for about a month now and we still aren’t done!

Seeing as March is all wrapped up, it is time to look back and review my favourite things about the month.

We have been lucky enough to enjoy a full week of glorious sunshine here in the West Country, doing that terribly British thing of making the most of every last drop of it and enjoying meals outside, Pimms and BBQs!

Firstly and most importantly, March has seen the arrival of my friend’s beautiful baby boy, who I was lucky enough to have cuddles with last week (and am now counting down to do it all over again next week!)…good work Hayley and Matt!

Here are the rest of my March Favourites…

…Food: I now have my chocolate spread obsession under control but I was very happy to finally find and try the chocolate Philly I had been searching for!

…Flowers: It is a close call between tulips and daffodils

But I think the daffs just edged it!

…Discovery: Everyone needs a great local and we are lucky to be surrounded by lovely country pubs but I think the Fox and Hounds in Farleigh Wick was a real find, and their chips alone are worth the journey!

…Change: The changing of the clocks is always welcome…Hello to lighter evenings and beautiful sunsets

…Drink: It has to be the classic British cocktail, Pimms and lemonade

…Website: Papermash – google this if you like beautiful stationary and kitchen goodies

…Guilty Pleasure: Hotel Chocolat’s Easter range. I was fortunate enough to be sent one of their whopper eggs, but the whole selection looks scrumptious so treat yourself!

…Buy: Our new picnic bench. A real bargain and I foresee years of good food and conversation  taking place on it

…Photos:

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

