RSS Feed

Buns, Bruschetta and Bonfires

This has been a week of firsts…

We have enjoyed our first hot-cross buns of the year, a monumental event I think you’ll agree! What a delightful breakfast; a bit spicy, a bit sticky and perfect with butter melting on the top. They are one of those things, like pancakes, that we should be eating all year round!

The first Pimms cocktail of the season has been polished off. My lovely limited edition bottle (thanks Sandy!) didn’t last long and we enjoyed a few glasses in the sun. This traditional British summer drink, with its lovely warm citrusy notes, reminds me of sitting with a good book in the sun and I can foresee lots more of it being drunk this summer!

It does divide people though; do you keep it as a minimalist cocktail, with just some ice and lemonade, or go the whole hog and turn it into a boozy fruit salad, with strawberries, apples, oranges and cucumber? I went somewhere in the middle this week with some cucumber and mint for good measure.

Finally we had our first bonfire in the fire pit. We spent last weekend clearing out a lot of dead plants from the garden and decided that burning it was a much more fun way to get rid of it compared to a trip to the skip or putting it in the recycling bin!

The stars and moon were shining brightly, so armed with glasses of red wine we headed outside to watch the sparks fly and even though we came in absolutely stinking of smoke, it was so worth it!

Today’s post isn’t really a recipe but more of a suggestion for some good bruschetta ideas.

These little Italian treats are great for using up a bounty of in-season vegetables and even when you keep it simple, with just some garlic, olive oil, salt and pepper, they are still delicious.

We had this tray of bruschetta as a starter, but I would have been quite happy making it our main course!

Here are some of the combinations we had:

  • Tomato and parmesan cheese
  • Sundried tomatoes, anchovies and goats cheese
  • Basil pesto and goats cheese

I love topping bruschetta with cheese; brie, goats cheese, parmesan, cheddar…I’m not too fussy as long as it melts and adds a lovely gooey top layer!

Finally, I wanted to share another gift from my garden – these gorgeous sunshine-coloured tulips which look even better basking in the sunshine.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

