RSS Feed

Daffodils and Picnic Benches

We have spent all day outside in the sunshine and it has been glorious!

On the way home from work yesterday, after spending the afternoon outside with my class doing the Sports Relief Mile (in a variety of interesting ways!), I treated myself to a new picnic bench. A rather strange impulse buy but after hearing the weather forecast for the weekend I simply had to have something that meant I could have my breakfast, lunch and dinner in the garden!

We started the day attempting to put together the aforementioned table and I think it is fair to say that flat-pack furniture is one of the major tests of a relationship…those who can build together, stay together!

We were both slightly excited about the DIY; Ian wanted to use his new electric drill…

…and I wanted to use my pretty tools!

After a few hours, and several cups of tea and coffee, we were finally done and I don’t think we did too badly!

We finished around lunchtime which meant it was time to put my al fresco dining plans into action with the ultimate sandwich…fish finger!

We then spent the rest of the day, gardening, reading and even had a few friends pop in to test out the sturdiness of the new bench (it passed!) and enjoy some ice-lollies.

Although I have grand plans for our garden, we have decided to wait and see what is already there and what appears over the next few months, which will hopefully bring some pleasant surprises.

The garden is just starting to awaken after its winter slumber and I am overjoyed to see lots of Spring daffodils and primroses blooming already. I love daffodils. They are bright, fresh, and let you know that the sun is on its way. I smiled to myself when I saw the different types in our garden…

Delicate, pale yellow petals with a deep orange trumpet

A sunshine yellow variety

Soft, creamy yellow with a beautiful frilly trumpet

Pale yellow with a lovely buttery coloured trumpet…all beautiful in their own way.

I hope you have spent a good chunk of today outside getting some much needed vitamin D, and are set to do the same tomorrow!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. Beautiful daffodils and I love your pretty tools. Great building project, by the way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

