RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – Fox and Hounds, Farleigh Wick

My parents visited us yesterday, and although they always come bearing gifts of food, we felt like eating out last night so we headed to the Fox and Hounds pub, just down the road from us in Farleigh Wick.

Since we moved, Ian and I have spotted a number of lovely looking local pubs we wanted to try out and this one didn’t disappoint. It is very nearby, and definitely walkable, which will be lovely in the lighter evenings. It also has a gorgeous beer garden out the back and I can imagine that being a treat during summer months.

Walking in, the pub is cosy and comforting, with lots of exposed beams and an open fire roaring in the corner, which was perfect on this chilly evening.

The menu managed to combine pub classics with some more modern dishes, and there were several specials available, all jotted down on blackboards around the bar.

I chose a simple but hearty beef and mushroom pie, which was served with lashings of deep, rich gravy. The steak in the pie was cooked perfectly and very tender. My only niggle was that there weren’t many mushrooms to be found inside but that may just be me being greedy!

My Mum opted for a pub classic of Wiltshire ham, egg and chips, and in my opinion you can’t really go wrong with this dish!

My Dad ordered the T-Bone steak, which was served with grilled mushrooms and tomatoes and cooked perfectly.

However, Ian won the prize for the best order…

Simply described as ‘Hog Roast’ on the menu, we were all slightly taken aback by the huge joint of meat that appeared, which I think it would probably feed a small family! The pork was covered in wonderfully crunchy crackling (which Ian was very generous with), and the meat itself was lovely and juicy. Given the task in hand, I think he did pretty well…

The only other thing I feel I must mention were the AMAZING chips we were served. Fluffy on the inside and perfectly crispy on the outside, these alone are worth a visit.

We couldn’t manage puddings, so we relaxed for a bit longer in front of the fire before heading home.

The Fox and Hounds pub is in between Bath and Bradford On Avon and I have heard they do a wonderful Sunday roast, which may merit another visit! It is a popular pit stop for walkers, and I can see how lovely it would be to spend a day walking in the beautiful surrounding countryside, before popping in for a filling meal to recharge the batteries.

I am very glad we discovered this gem, and look forward to getting to know it a bit better!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

