RSS Feed

Recipe – Savoy Cabbage and Chorizo Soup

I made this recipe for dinner last night to try and use up a rather sorry-looking cabbage I had in the cupboard, and to be honest I wasn’t too sure how it would turn out!

Luckily for me (and you!), it was delicious and, although I used chorizo, this recipe would work just as well with bacon or pancetta.

If you don’t have the cabbage or meat to add, then the base of the meal itself is a lovely, wholesome vegetable soup which would be perfect with some warm, crusty bread dipped in.

Ingredients

A glug of olive oil

1 onion, chopped

2 carrots, chopped

A few sticks of celery, chopped

2 or 3 potatoes, chopped

Enough vegetable stock to cover the vegetables

Salt and pepper

A small savoy cabbage, shredded

About 9-12 slices of chorizo, chopped

How to make it

  • Begin by heating the oil in a large pan, then add the onion, carrots and celery and cook for 3-5 minutes on a low heat, until the vegetables have started to soften
  • Add the potatoes, a pinch of salt and pepper and then cook for another few minutes
  • Cover the contents of the pan with the stock and cook for 5-10 minutes on a medium heat until the vegetables have softened
  • Allow to cool, and then blitz to make a smooth soup. (at this stage, mine was a bit thick, so I added some more water until I was happy with the consistency)
  • Season to taste
  • Put the pan back on a low heat and add the shredded cabbage and about half of the chorizo
  • With the remaining half, gently fry in a small pan and then set to one side
  • As soon as the cabbage has softened (after about 5 minutes) serve the soup and top with the crispy pieces of chorizo

Enjoy the first dish from my new kitchen! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

