RSS Feed

A March Weekend

After my last post, heralding the start of Spring, I feel I may need to retract my words about the improvement in weather…

Yesterday, we had snow, sleet, rain, hail and glorious sunshine all within the space of one afternoon! We were sat in the conservatory and it was lovely to hear and see the hail lashing down and it reminded me of that feeling you get when you are sat in a tent during a rainstorm, knowing you are inside, safe and cosy.

Saturday was spent cleaning and moving the last few items out of our old flat. That’s one of the little downsides I discovered about moving from a rented property into your own; in order to get your deposit back, you have to leave your old property spotless but there are no rules when you buy somewhere and so you feel like you have double the amount of work to do!

It was strange seeing the rooms we have lived in for the past 4 years looking so empty. I expected our last visit to be tinged with sadness, as we really loved our old flat and had some fabulous times there, but I am more excited at the moment about making memories in our new home.

One of the things I have been looking forward to doing is finally having our friends and family to visit us, even though we are still living out of suitcases and have rooms full of unopened boxes! This weekend was the turn of Ian’s parents and then our good friends on Sunday.

Due to there not being enough hours in the day at the moment (!), I opted for an easy ‘shove it in the oven’ lunch on Sunday and served up a variety of veggie burgers with all the trimmings and an old favourite from our university days; curly fries! I love spending a day pottering around in the kitchen and cooking but every now and then it is refreshing to let someone else do the hard work for you and it also means you can spend a bit longer catching up with your guests over endless pots of tea.

After all this indulgence, we had a short walk around the village for a nosy and some fresh air

…and to meet our neighbours who live in the field at the end of the garden!

I hope you had a wonderful weekend and are ready to face the week ahead x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

3 responses »

  1. Curly fries! That reminds me of being a student too. Lots of tea will help you to cope with the new house, I’m sure. There’s nothing that isn’t made better with a good cup of tea.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

