RSS Feed

February Favourites

And so another month bites the dust.

February has seen the last of those wintery days and has also brought the promise of spring.

I found the first daffodil of the season in my garden this afternoon

For me, this was a huge month as it saw Ian and I move into our first house. I have since discovered that even if you are coming home to half decorated rooms, filled with half-unpacked boxes, that there is no feeling like coming home to your own home.

We have big plans for the next few months, and I am dying to get onto the ‘fun’ part of decorating and start choosing paint colours, furniture and accessories, but in the meantime we are spending most evenings stripping and preparing the walls which is slow work but I am getting a very toned right bicep in the process!

This month also saw one of my favourite holidays. No, not Valentines but Pancake Day! In my eagerness to eat these maple-syrup covered delights, I didn’t manage to get any photos but it acted as a timely reminder not to save this lovely dish for only one evening per year!

And on that note, here are my February Favourites:

Book: Isn’t it wonderful when you find one of those books where you literally can’t put it down and you keep on reading long into the night until your eyes start to sting whilst telling yourself “just one more page”?! The first time I read the Millennium Trilogy, by Stieg Larsson, I was hooked and ever since I saw the Daniel Craig version of The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, complete with him in those tiny pants, I have had an longing to reread all three books again. I am currently halfway through the second book on my Kindle and am pleasantly surprised that it has captivated me in the same way again. In my opinion, three brilliant, suspense-filled books.

TV: After a ridiculously poor selection of good dramas to watch over the festive period, there has been an increase of decent and original programmes on the box lately. I am really getting into Channel 4’s new drama, Homeland, and wait with baited breath for Kiefer Sutherland’s new drama Touch (although it will never reach the heights of 24!). And for those evenings where you just want to sit back and relax, there is always the fabulously over-the-top series of My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding to enjoy!

Meal: Ian and I headed back to my parents’ this weekend to watch Liverpool’s victory in the Carling Cup *high five* and when my Dad asked me what I fancied eating for our pre-match meal I instantly knew what would be perfect…a huge stack of BBQ ribs! I have decided that ribs would be my ‘death row meal’ and I am determined that by BBQ season I will have perfected my marinade…which I will of course share on here!

Night Out: Without a doubt, my favourite evening out this month would be the gig we went to in Bristol to see two of my favourite bands, I Am The Avalanche and Brand New. Both bands were awesome, and it was well worth the hoarse voice the next day!

Photos:

So now we head into March with lighter mornings, slightly warmer days and a bit more sun. Things for me at work are pretty hectic at the moment but I hope to have time to be able to write about some springtime recipes, our continued decorating efforts in the new house and to start having people round for dinner again!

I am also waiting with baited breath for the precious arrival of one of my best friends’ first baby…Good Luck Hays! xxx

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. It’s so nice to see the daffs coming out now. Funnily enough, when I saw your first photo on this post I thought, I wonder if she lives in Bath….and now I see from your profile that you do! What a lovely place to live, I had a weekend there once and loved it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

