RSS Feed

Settling In

Well, we are in and it is slowly starting to feel like home.

I won’t lie; our actual moving day was hellish! We didn’t hire removal men but took on the challenge of moving ourselves from a 4th floor flat, down eight flights of stairs to our new house, a short drive away. To say it was tiring is an understatement! We had our parents helping us pack, unpack and clean and I don’t think we would have been able to do it alone.

However, the whole day was tinged with an underlying excitement of picking up the keys and opening the door to our very own house…and being carried over the threshold!

It is hard to describe the first walk around your new property because it is yours, but doesn’t quite feel like it yet. As I wandered around, my head was spinning with hundreds of decorating ideas as I tried to imagine where all of our furniture would go and what to do first.

Our new house is definitely a project and a ‘doer-upper’, and we both know it will take months, even years, until we get it exactly how we want it, but we are definitely looking forward to the challenge!

However, the first task was a deep clean and so every cupboard, door, wall and floor was bleached, scrubbed and cleaned until I had broken every nail and every muscle in our bodies ached.

It wasn’t all work though and we rewarded ourselves with a well-deserved glass of red…

One of the reasons we wanted to move to a village was to feel that sense of community that you just don’t get from living in a city and it feels like we have struck gold! The first weekend we were here, we got a leaflet through the door about a village coffee and croissant morning which we thought would be a great chance to meet some of our neighbours and happily we were made to feel very welcome indeed.

We had a wander through our new village afterwards and I think we are both just feeling so lucky to be living in such gorgeous, peaceful countryside.

It also looks like spring is just around the corner…

We are both back at work now, so trying to fit in the rest of the unpacking in the evenings as well as starting on the decorating. We still don’t have our broadband set up so it will be another week or so until I can start posting regularly again but I am desperate to try out my new kitchen and have lots of lovely lighter recipes in mind as we move away from wanting big pots of warming stews to lighter meals to welcome in the new season.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

