RSS Feed

Moving Day

I usually can’t wait until half term because it means lie-ins, coffees with friends and maybe even a few nights away somewhere new with Ian. This time however it hasn’t been quite so fun…

Yes, I have spent what feels like all day, every day packing up the last four years of our life in Bath into boxes and suitcases ready for the next chapter in our lives.

We have bought a beautiful cottage in a lovely Cotswold village just outside of Bath. This is our first house and we have been looking for it for what feels like a very long time. So the fact that we are finally able to move into it is fabulous!

We started looking at properties a few months after I started my new job and that bit was really fun! Being able to have a look around lovely houses and cottages and start making big plans together.

The less enjoyable part came after we decided we wanted this house. The phone calls back and forth with the estate agents, the negotiations, chasing up the solicitors, and so on. This part was a bit of a hassle and a lot less interesting than days out in the countryside checking out potential local pubs!

But, it has to be done and after what feels like an age we are finally packed up and ready to go.

I think everyone has different criteria they look for when they are buying a property and we soon realised what was and wasn’t important to us after a few viewings. Given the economy that we are in at the moment, the practical side of my brain kicked in and suddenly an Aga oven wasn’t the most urgent requirement, although we both insisted on a good local pub!

This will without a doubt be a big change for both of us. ‘Life changing’ sounds slightly too dramatic but we will be embracing a new lifestyle, one that we have wanted for a while.

I have loved living in the very centre of Bath for these past few years; it was our first place together, we hosted some excellent parties, had friends and family to stay and woke up every morning to glorious views of the city right outside our windows.

But after several years, there are things that you realise you want that a one-bedroom flat on the 3rd floor cannot give you; more space, better parking and the key thing for us which is a big garden. The other thing about renting is that you are quite limited on what you can do to the property to put your mark on it, and I want to get a paintbrush in my hand and start making this new place look like our own!

Although the actual process of moving is a complete pain (especially with several flights of stairs to contend with!), I keep thinking forward and about what there is to come: redecorating, dinner parties, country walks right on our doorstep, growing our own vegetables, keeping chickens, having friends and family to stay, hosting Christmas, BBQs…watch this space! xxx

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

