RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – The Farmhouse Inn, Southwick

Hello – it’s been a little while!

Apart from the times we have been away on holiday, I think this is one of the longest gaps between posts and it made me realise how much I have to be in the right mood to write and really ‘feel’ it. As soon as this blog starts to become a burden or something I dread doing then I will stop doing it immediately. This week has been really busy and demanding at work, culminating in my first whole school assembly which was nerve-racking but a rite of passage in the life of an NQT and one I can tick off my to-do list!

In the midst of all this, I found time for a meal out with my beau at The Farmhouse Inn in Southwick. This is a lovely 20th Century pub that has a cosy, traditional feel to it and serves good, honest pub grub. Although i do like to treat myself to somewhere a bit posh every now and then, I also love simple comfort food done well, and this place ticks that box.

We opted for starters and mains each. Ian began with a plate of hot, crispy whitebait which was delicious and served with a good tartar sauce and fresh salad. It reminded me of the sardinitas Ian and I used to have with a cold beer when we were on holiday near Barcelona a few years ago…delicioso!

I also went for a fish dish; cod and salmon fish cakes which were full of lovely chunks of fish, and really tasty but just crying out for a nice dipping sauce!

For my main, I went for my favourite pub meal, good ol’ ham, egg and chips. The local Wiltshire ham was lovely, especially topped with a crispy chip and dipped in the egg yolk…perfection.

Ian opted for one of their specials, a chicken madras served with rice and poppadums. It was actually very tasty with a good amount of spice, tender chicken and some dipping sauces.

We didn’t have any room for puddings (which all looked very good, and homemade) but we headed home content, and with full stomachs.

This traditional pub was worth the trip, with friendly service, a warm, comfortable environment and tasty local food.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

