RSS Feed

Happy Chinese New Year!

To welcome in the Year of the Dragon I thought I would post my favourite Chinese-inspired recipe – a lovely fragrant beef stew. This recipe will make enough for 6-8 people so is lovely when catering for a crowd.

It is slow cooked in the oven meaning you can spend the afternoon getting on with things and after a few hours you will have a delicious, melt-in-the-mouth beef dish, which is perfect served with rice, noodles or vegetables.

Ingredients

A good glug of vegetable oil

6 garlic cloves, thinly sliced

A heaped teaspoon of Lazy Ginger

A bunch of spring onions, chopped

A good pinch of dried chillies

1.5kg of stewing beef (shin of beef or ox cheek will both work perfectly in this recipe)

3 tablespoons of plain flour, well-seasoned

2 star anises

1 heaped teaspoon of Chinese Five Spice

2 teaspoons of sugar

A good glug (about 3 tablespoons) of dry sherry or Chinese cooking wine

3 tablespoons of soy sauce

500ml of good quality beef stock

2 bok choi, lightly steamed

A tray of mushrooms, roughly chopped

How to make it

  • Preheat the oven to 130°C, Gas Mark 2
  • Heat a good glug of oil in a large ovenproof dish and lightly fry the garlic, ginger, onions and chillies for 3 minutes and then remove from the pan
  • Toss the beef in the seasoned flour and then brown off the meat in batches, placing to one side when done
  • In the pan, which should start to take on a lovely brown base from all the meat and spices, lightly fry the Chinese five spice and star anise, and add the garlic mix back into the pan (these will smell delicious when cooking!)
  • Add the sugar and then put the beef back in the pan, stirring well until the meat is covered in all the lovely spices
  • Add the sherry and use this to deglaze the pan slightly, scraping up any meaty bits from the bottom of the dish
  • Pour in the soy sauce and beef stock, put a lid on the dish and then oven back for 2-2.5 hours. I stirred the meat after each hour
  • Take the dish out of the oven and put on a low heat on the hob
  • Add the mushrooms and bok choi and cook for a few minutes
  • Serve with egg fried rice, noodles or stir fried vegetables

I served my stew with some rotis which were bought from an Asian supermarket and they are fabulous to have to hand! Simply take them out of the freezer, and fry for a few minutes on each side on a high heat (no oil needed). They will brown and start to puff up slightly when they are done.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

