RSS Feed

Recipe – A Delicious Chicken Marinade

After what has been a particularly tough week at school, I did what every girl needs once in a while…a good girls night in! My friend Cat arrived with a copy of Bridesmaid on DVD and before long we were in our pyjamas, drinking wine, eating cake and putting the world to rights. It was exactly what I needed.

Before today’s recipe, I wanted to share what was one of the best and most useful ‘foodie’ presents I have received…

This is a blank recipe book (Paperchase), helpfully divided into sections so that you have a place for all those recipes you cut out of magazines, jot down on paper whilst watching TV or those that are passed down through friends and family. It is also handy for keeping the recipe cards you pick up in supermarkets, and if you know anyone who likes to experiment in the kitchen and tweak recipes, then it is perfect for them and I wholeheartedly recommend one for their next birthday!

Today’s recipe uses natural yogurt as the base to marinate the chicken. It sticks to the chicken during cooking and keeps it really juicy and tender, while the cumin gives it a lovely spice and flavour. It is inspired by Indian tikka recipes but  is very simple and easy to make.

Ingredients

A tray of chicken drumsticks and/or thighs

About 8 tablespoons of natural yogurt (enough to ensure all the meat is covered when the marinade is rubbed in)

1 tablespoon of cumin

1 garlic clove, finely chopped

A handful of cherry tomatoes

How to make it

  • Preheat the oven to 200°C, Gas Mark 6
  • Remove the skin from the chicken thighs and drumsticks
  • In a large dish, put in the chicken and then top with the yogurt, cumin and garlic
  • Now you need to rub the marinade in to ensure all the meat is coated (tip, remove any rings for this part!)
  • Leave to marinate for at least 30 minutes, longer if possible
  • In a hot pan, cook each piece of chicken for a few minutes on each side to lightly brown the meat
  • Place in a roasting tin with the tomatoes and oven bake for 20-25 minutes
  • Serve with cous cous and roasted vegetables

This is also lovely cooked on a barbecue and served with a fresh green salad

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. Will be making this ! Yum yum it was so good x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

