RSS Feed

Recipe – Carrot, Cauliflower and Cumin Soup

Man, it’s cold! This is what greeted me this morning…

Until I got my handy scraper mitt on!

This latest bout of weather has made my drive to work so much more enjoyable with lovely pink and purple skies. I keep meaning to pull over and take a picture but am more often than not running late so don’t have the time!

I have been pottering in the kitchen a lot this week, trying to perfect some recipes, and experimenting with others. I am hoping for a summer full of barbecues, and for me these wouldn’t be complete without the king of barbecue meat…ribs!

I will sometimes buy a ready-made sauce from the supermarket, to try it out and then attempt to recreate it myself and I have started a quest for the perfect marinade for my summer ribs! This weekend I made a beer-based sauce which produced a delicious dinner, but didn’t quite hit the spot so it is back to the drawing board until attempt number two which I hope will be slightly sweeter, stickier and smokier…watch this space!

Today’s soup is packed with flavour and lightly spiced. I also discovered that this spice intensified overnight so a slight word of warning if you don’t like things too hot!

Ingredients

A glug of olive oil

1 onion, chopped

1 cauliflower, roughly chopped

About 10 carrots, peeled and chopped

Salt and pepper

1 heaped teaspoon of cumin

A pinch of dried chilli flakes (optional)

About 750ml of vegetable stock (enough to cover the vegetables)

How to make it

  • Begin by heating the oil in a large pan, and lightly cook the onion for about 10 minutes until soft
  • Add the cauliflower and carrots, and then season with salt and pepper and sprinkle over the cumin and chilli flakes

  • Pour over the stock and cook for about 15 minutes until the vegetables have softened
  • Allow the ingredients to cool and then blend until smooth
  • Reheat and serve with hot crusty bread and real butter!
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

