RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – The Cosy Club, Bath

It is definitely getting colder! Yesterday was the first time in ages I have had to de-ice my car (note to self, leave the house a bit earlier next week to allow time to do this!) and on my way to work I could see the fields had a light coating of crunchy, white ice…is this the winter we never had on its way?

Earlier this week, my friend Cat and I headed to The Cosy Club in Bath for a mid-week dinner and catch up. This restaurant, in the new Southgate shopping area, has been going for a little while now but this was the first time I had managed to visit.

Upon entering, I was hugely impressed at how the place looked. The décor was gorgeous – a mix of Art Deco-style pieces, lovely soft armchairs, chandeliers and walls filled with interesting pictures, mirrors and signs.

The main menu offers lots of hearty fare, such as crispy pork belly, a ham and macaroni cheese, and traditional cod and chips. They also offer an all-day brunch menu which looked very tempting, and much more interesting than your usual fry-up.

We opted for a selection of tapas, which was predominantly Spanish-inspired and our six dishes arrived shortly with a basket of ciabatta bread each on the side.

Now I don’t want to be too critical here as the food was absolutely fine, but that’s really all it was. The pork and thyme meatballs were good (although I couldn’t taste the thyme) but the tomato sauce they were in tasted just like a tin of chopped tomatoes so was definitely lacking some flavour and seasoning.

One of my favourite dishes was chorizo cooked in red wine. I don’t think you can go wrong with chorizo, and the sauce was delicious to dip bread into.

The falafels were also very tasty with a nice yogurt-based dip, but again the dip was crying out for some fresh coriander or cumin to give it a boost.

We shared some pulled pork which was cooked in five spice and honey glazed and this was lovely, and again provided a lovely sweet sauce to mop up with the ciabatta.

The stuffed vine leaves were fine, and tasted like those you would get from a nice delicatessen, but my least favourite dish was the crushed minted peas served with feta. These were quite tough to eat, although the cheese on top was very good.

We didn’t realise until we paid, but on Tuesdays The Cosy Club offer three tapas dishes and a drink for £8 so it was very reasonably priced.

There is an element of style over substance here for me, but for a quick bite or a coffee in the centre of Bath, in lovely surroundings, this restaurant isn’t bad. I would come back here again, but would probably look upon this place as a nice café or bar as opposed to a restaurant. As I mentioned earlier, the brunch menu here looks gorgeous, and as a venue for a few cocktails it makes a great change from the usual large chains that tend to dominate our high streets now. With a little tweaking The Cosy Club would make a great restaurant, but for now I will think of it as my new favourite café.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

