RSS Feed

Recipe – An Easy Prawn, Pea and Tomato Curry

So yesterday started with this crawling onto my foot during my morning shower…

…and things went downhill from there! I was on a course all day and on my way to the venue in deepest, darkest Wiltshire, I was going through a country village when all of a sudden the traffic ground to a halt. Shortly after that, a workman informed me that the road would be closed for half an hour while they unloaded something onto the site up ahead. This obviously meant I was really late for my morning session, and had to take the last remaining seat when I arrived. After a few minutes I recognised the girl sat next to me and I had that strange thing of trying to remember where I knew her from, running through university course mates, old colleagues, neighbours and friends of friends then it hit me…it was out of this girl and I in my job interview! Cue a very awkward exchange where I realised she clearly wasn’t over it, as she proceeded to go over and over the interview day, and tell me how much she wanted my job!

In early January, you can get away with making wild, over-the-top  statements about the year and this was definitely my crappiest day so far. However, they say that bad things come in threes so here’s hoping I am done for the rest of the month!

After a day like this, the only things that can help are good friends, a decent red wine, chocolate, comfort food and, if possible, cuddles with a gorgeous puppy! I was lucky enough to have all of these on hand when I got home.

Right, now to cover the good food part…

This curry is quick, easy and full of flavour. Again, I do not make any claims on its authenticity but it hits the spot when you want something fresh and healthy with a bit of a kick.

Although the recipe only mentions peas, I also had some leftover carrots, broccoli and cauliflower which I added so feel free to bulk the curry up with whatever veggies you love!

Ingredients

A glug of vegetable oil

1 onion, chopped

1 tray of king prawns

A teaspoon of chopped ginger

1 or 2 garlic cloves, roughly chopped (I actually used 3 cloves but luckily Ian doesn’t mind my garlicky breath!)

A handful of cherry tomatoes, halved (a couple of sliced full-sized tomatoes would also work fine)

2-3 teaspoons of a good mixed curry powder

A pinch of chilli flakes

Half a bag of frozen peas

Chopped tomatoes or passata (enough to cover the ingredients in the pan – I used two cans of chopped tomatoes)

Salt and pepper

A small bunch of fresh coriander, chopped

How to make it

  • Heat the oil in a large pan. Add the onion and cook for about 5 minutes on a medium heat until softened, but not browned
  • Add the prawns, ginger and garlic and cook for a few minutes, stirring constantly
  • Add the cherry tomatoes, and then the curry powder and chilli flakes and stir for a few minutes until the smell of the spices are released

  • Now add the peas and any other vegetables you want to use (note: if you are using something chunky like carrot or cauliflower then I would recommend lightly steaming them first so that they are almost cooked when you add them to the pan – otherwise the prawns will overcook and go hard while you are waiting for these other vegetables to cook)
  • Pour in the chopped tomatoes so that the ingredients in the pan are covered
  • Cook for about 5 minutes until the vegetables are soft
  • Serve with rice, naan and a sprinkling of coriander

I hope you are looking forward to Friday night and the weekend as much as I am! xxx

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

