RSS Feed

Recipe – Roasted Sweet Potato and Cumin Soup

Another day, another soup recipe! Now I don’t like to play favourites with my soups but this one is especially good.

By roasting the vegetables first, as opposed to cooking them in stock, you get all the lovely smokiness of the singed and slightly caramelised onions and sweet potatoes, and the cumin adds a lovely warm spicy note.

After a week on my new soup diet, I have lost nearly 4lbs, and by swapping one of my meals each day for a bowl of fresh soup I have also easily hit my five a day of fruit and veg…not too bad!

Ingredients

2 sweet potatoes, peeled and diced

1 onion, cut into wedges

Some olive oil

A sprinkling of ground cumin (about 2 teaspooons)

A pinch of smoked paprika

Salt and pepper

700ml of stock (chicken or vegetable stock will work)

How to make it

  • Begin by preheating the oven to 200°C, Gas Mark 6
  • On a baking tray, place the sweet potato chunks and onion wedges, drizzle with the olive oil and then sprinkle over the cumin, smoked paprika and a good pinch of salt and pepper. Toss the contents of the tray to ensure all pieces are coated evenly
  • Roast for about half an hour until the vegetables have softened and browned
  • Tip the contents of the tray into a large pan and cover with the stock
  • Blend until smooth and then season to taste
  • A dollop of sour cream on top when serving would complement this smoky flavour perfectly
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

