RSS Feed

How D’Ya Like Your Eggs In The Morning?

It is our eight year anniversary today. If this was a wedding anniversary then it would be our ‘Bronze’ but seeing as we aren’t in any need of any bronze-based products (and I also have no idea what I would actually want that is made from bronze!), I settled for flowers and Cath Kidston, and Ian asked for a lovely breakfast in bed (easily pleased!)

I have always been on Carrie’s side, rather than Charlotte’s, in the great Sex and The City debate over carnations. I love them and they are what I ask for every year!

My other presents are for the garden, so I will carefully pack them away until we have our country cottage and I can start planning, digging and planting…very excited by the idea of it!

Tonight, we are off for what will no doubt be a delicious 6 course taster menu by a new Michelin trained chef, Gordon Jones, but until then my twist on eggs and bacon will keep us full up.

For want of a better phrase, I don’t want to teach people to suck eggs, so I’m not going to write a step-by-step guide on how to make scrambled eggs, but just let you know the ingredients I used this morning to make this Greek-inspired brunch (I think we slept in too late to call it ‘breakfast’!)

  • Begin by chopping up and frying a few rashers of bacon in a frying pan and then set to one side once crispy
  • Make enough scrambled eggs for 2 people using your normal recipe and method (for me, 3 eggs, a dash of milk, salt and pepper whisked together then stirred in a saucepan)
  • Just before the eggs are done, add the cooked bacon pieces, some chopped tomatoes, a handful of fresh coriander and a pinch of dried chilli flakes
  • Finish cooking the eggs and then serve with toasted pitta breads and a spoonful of fresh tzatziki…delicious!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

