RSS Feed

Recipe – Bacon and Celeriac Soup

And so the soup-a-thon, also known as January, continues!

I wanted to try cooking with celeriac as, although I have had it in different forms in restaurants, I have never actually used it in a recipe. You can imagine my delight when I saw this rooty thing sat on my chopping board!

I had no idea how to prepare it but after some peeling and chopping (and a bit of swearing!) I finally managed to get it ready for my pan

This soup is rich and comforting but, with the bacon topping, is also a little more refined meaning it would be a lovely starter for a dinner party.

Ingredients

A knob of butter

1 onion, chopped

4 rashers of bacon, chopped (I used smoked back bacon)

I celeriac, diced (good luck!)

About 750ml of stock (I used chicken stock)

Salt and pepper to season

A pinch of mixed herbs

100ml of milk or cream

How to make it

  • Begin by melting the butter on a medium heat, and then add the onion and 3 rashers of chopped bacon. Cook for about 10 minutes until the onion has softened
  • Add the celeriac and stir for a few minutes
  • Pour in the stock, add the herbs and season well
  • Leave on a medium heat for 20-25 minutes until the celeriac has softened
  • Allow the soup to cool slightly, and then blitz until chunky or smooth, depending on your preference
  • Add the milk or cream, and reheat to serve
  • With the last rasher, fry the bacon pieces until crispy. Sprinkle these bacon bits on top of the soup before serving to add another texture
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

