RSS Feed

Christmas Cocktails

We are off to my parents’ this afternoon so have been busy wrapping the last few presents, packing, and tidying up so we don’t come back to a flat that looks like a bomb has hit it!

The ironing is all done (and yes, check out those snazzy Christmas pyjamas!)

The presents are wrapped and bagged up

And all that is left to do is to nip to M&S and get a good selection of cheese and some mince pies!

Today I wanted to share my top three Christmas cocktails with you, as it is quite normal to have people popping in over the next few days and I think it is lovely to be able to offer them something a bit different to drink.

The first cocktail is the festively named ‘Snowball’ and is one that I think is probably only drunk at this time of year. It reminds me of a soda float, both creamy and a bit fizzy. Simply pour a bit of advocaat in a tall glass and top up with lemonade. Give it good stir and enjoy!

The second drink is a ‘Dark and Stormy’ which combines rum (preferably a dark, spiced rum) and ginger beer. This lovely warming drink is a favourite amongst my friends in Bath and is a good winter cocktail.

Finally, one of my favourite liquors, Disaronno (although there are perfectly fine ‘own-brand’ versions too). Enjoy this Christmassy drink on its own over ice, with a dash of Coca Cola or in a glass of warm milk for an adult’s twist on milk before bedtime!

And when you inevitably overdo the booze, you can’t beat a good cup of tea to help with the hangover!

Happy Christmas Eve Eve…not long to go now!!! xxx

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

