RSS Feed

Recipe – Pollo con Chorizo

I was determined to make a huge dent in my Christmas shopping and maybe even finish it today, so I made Ian get up very early and we drove to a nearby town, with me saying how we should have got there earlier as we wouldn’t even get a parking space at 9:30am. Then we arrived…to an empty car park! I was prepared for crammed shops and having to elbow my way around but we actually found most of the shops to be nearly empty which was lovely from a shopping point of view but did make me realise we could have had an extra hour or so in bed! Apart from a few last minute foodie items, we are pretty much done with our presents so tomorrow will be spent wrapping them with tea, mince pies and the obligatory naff Christmas film…heaven!

Today’s recipe is a Spanish-inspired stew which is very simple to make and incredible tasty. For me, the inclusion of chorizo in any dish means you don’t have to work too hard adding flavours as the smoked paprika in this sausage takes care of it for you!

I love the idea of placing a big bowl of this in the middle of the table and allowing people to help themselves until they are full. I made this for my friends this week and served it with crusty bread (perfect for dipping) and a green salad, but you can have it with rice, pasta, roasted vegetables or simply on its own.

The amounts below should make enough for 6 big portions or 8 smaller ones

Ingredients

2 onions, chopped

4 chicken breasts, chopped

About ¾ of a chorizo sausage, sliced

2-3 cloves of garlic, finely chopped

2 tins of chopped tomatoes

250ml of stock (I used chicken stock)

About 600g of potatoes, chopped (I used 3 large potatoes)

A handful of black olives, preferably pitted

How to make it

  • Begin by lightly frying the onions in olive oil on a medium to low heat until softened
  • Add the chopped chicken breast and continue cooking until they are lightly browned
  • Now add the chorizo and cook until the juices start coming out
  • Add the garlic and stir for a minute or so and then pour in the chopped tomatoes and stock, and stir well
  • Add the potatoes, and season well with salt and pepper
  • Cover the pan and simmer for 30-40 minutes until the potatoes have softened
  • Add the black olives and cook for another 10 minutes
  • Perfect with a big glass of Rioja!
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

