RSS Feed

Recipe – Courgette and Cheddar Fritters

Last night I cooked for three of my closest friends as we swapped presents and had a good festive catch up. I also got to meet this gorgeous little creature for the first time…

Meet Ruby Soho, the newest addition to my extended family and so cute (despite the little ‘accident’ she had on my carpet!)

Due to two of us having to drive, me being on antibiotics and the other one being pregnant (what a rock and roll bunch we are!), we started with some mulled apple juice which was a very enjoyable alternative to the usual wine or cider

It reminded me of a new winter cocktail I tried a little while ago which was warm apple juice with a shot of winter Pimms…delicious!

I was making a Spanish chicken stew for our main course so I didn’t feel like making soup for our starter. I found and adapted a recipe for these lovely little fritters which are a great option for vegetarians, and can be made in advance then reheated (meaning I get to spend as much time as possible with my lovely guests without being stuck in the kitchen for too long!)

Ingredients

140g of plain flour

2 eggs

175ml of milk

75g of tasty cheddar

1-2 spring onions, chopped

Salt and pepper

A pinch of dried mixed herbs

2 courgettes, grated

A glug of olive oil

How to make it

  • Grate the courgettes – to avoid getting bits of green everywhere I use these handy graters from IKEA which ensure that all the courgette ends up in one place!
  • Put the flour in a bowl and add the eggs one at a time, then the milk until you have a smooth batter
  • Tip in the cheddar and spring onions and mix
  • Season with salt and pepper, and add the mixed herbs
  • In a non-stick pan, lightly fry the grated courgette for a few minutes, stirring. This should get rid of most of the liquid created by grating, but I would recommend putting the cooked courgettes on kitchen paper afterwards to soak up any excess
  • When cool, add the grated courgettes into the batter and stir through
  • In a frying pan on a medium heat, add a glug of olive oil and drop in tablespoonfuls of batter to create the fritters (I would recommend two tablespoons of batter per fritter)
  • Fry on one side for a few minutes until golden, then flip them over and cook for the same amount of time
  • Place the cooked fritter on a baking tray and you can either finish these in the oven straight away or set to one side and then put them in the oven when your guests arrive and you are ready to eat
  • The fritters should take around 8-10 minutes in an oven at 180°C, Gas Mark 6
  • Serve with salad and warm crusty bread – I served mine with a simple tomato and mozzarella salad

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

