RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – Ronnie’s of Thornbury

I had been looking forward to today’s lunch date all week. Not only did it involve a long overdue catch up with my good friend Cat, but we also enjoyed some delicious food at this award winning restaurant.

Ronnie’s is in the lovely village of Thornbury, close to Cribbs Causeway, and it is well worth the trip. The restaurant itself has a relaxed atmosphere and the exposed brick and beams in the dining room were right up my street!

We began our lunch with starters of pigeon and confit of duck.

My pigeon breasts were served rare (how they should be!) with gorgeous accompaniments of puy lentils, creamed cauliflower, steamed broccoli, a rasher of streaky bacon and a game flavoured crisp. The combination of textures and flavours worked perfectly and I could have eaten this again for my main!

My friend had three beautiful crispy balls of duck confit, served with greens and a swipe of beetroot. I am assured this tasted as good as it looked.

For my main, I opted for two slices of perfectly cooked lamb (rare again) with a carrot puree, some more game crisps and Cat had roast beef with a huge Yorkshire pudding.

We shared a bowl of crispy roast potatoes and a selection of seasonal vegetables, which added to a great roast dinner!

I don’t usually order roast dinners in restaurants, as they never live up to how good they taste at home, and don’t seem to have as much care taken over them, but Ronnie’s is far from the usual carvery offerings. The food here was cooked really well and each meat came with different side dishes.

There was a good selection of puddings on offer but we were both a bit too full so just opted for coffees to finish. However, we couldn’t resist the lovely petits fours brought to us; miniature chocolate brownies, crumbly butter shortbread and fragrant Turkish delight squares.

It is no wonder Ronnie’s has won several accolades over the past few years and it was one of the nicest meals I have had recently. With a menu that changes with the seasons, I think it a place that is worth going back to to experience their latest offerings.

Incidentally, this is my 100th post so sending out a virtual high five! When I wrote my first post back in May of this year, I had no idea I would enjoy writing this blog as much as I have.

It has made me look for inspiration in everyday things, attempt new recipes and take more photos, all of which I have relished. Looking back on the site is like finding an old diary and it is fabulous to relive holidays, days out, tasty meals and other adventures…I hope you have enjoyed reading it as much as I have loved writing it! xxx

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

