RSS Feed

It’s (finally) beginning to feel a bit like Christmas

After a week that included the school Christmas disco, our Year 6 Christmas show, an emergency trip to the dentist with toothache, a sprinkling of snow, staff ‘Secret Santa’ and a whole day of party games with my class…it is finally the end of term. If I wasn’t on antibiotics I would have a large glass of wine to celebrate, but I am making do with Diet Coke!

For me, Christmas really starts now.

By now I have usually bought and wrapped most of my presents, written and sent all of my Christmas cards and stocked the fridge with a ridiculous amount of cheese. With a very busy last week of term, I feel a bit behind this year but I plan to put that right this weekend…I will sit in my Christmas pyjamas, watching cheesy festive films, writing cards, wrapping presents and eating cheese – perfection!

With snow forecast in the next few days, I can’t wait to enjoy some long country walks, cook, bake and see friends before heading off to our families for the big day.

One really quick product review before I start on my first Christmas film of the year (the Disney version of ‘A Christmas Carol’ if you were wondering):

A little while ago, I wrote about Heston Blumenthal’s range of ice creams for Waitrose. We tried the rather delicious Salted Caramel Popcorn ice cream and since then Ian has been intrigued by the idea of another more interesting flavour…Savoury Mustard ice cream.

This didn’t appeal to me in the slightest but it appears Ian couldn’t resists it and after popping out for milk and bread last weekend came back with this!

On its own, this ice cream is definitely an acquired taste. It tastes exactly how you would expect mustard ice cream to taste but I didn’t want to write it off completely so tried it again as an accompaniment which is how it is meant to be enjoyed.

We had a scoop each with a lunch of smoked salmon tartlets and spinach salad and I have to admit that it was much tastier this way. A small amount of this tasted like a creamy mustard salad dressing which was very enjoyable, but no better than an actual drizzle of salad dressing or a scoop of mustard on the side of the plate.

Personally, I think this ice cream is a bit of a novelty and doesn’t add enough to a dish to make me want to buy it again…I will however continue to play “guess the mystery flavour” game whenever an unsuspecting friend comes over!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

