RSS Feed

Christmas Food Festival

I love food festivals! I love seeing the variety of food and drink available to buy, trying all the tasters and speaking to the vendors who are really passionate about what they produce.

Today Ian and I went to the Love Food Festival set in the gorgeous grounds of Dyrham Park, just outside Bath. We went to the summer festival here and got lots of tasty things so I was looking forward to the festive version.

Unfortunately it was rather chilly and windy today so we pulled on wellies, hats and scarves, and set off all wrapped up.

After a large mulled wine to take the edge off, we had a wander through the stalls. I have to admit it wasn’t quite as Christmassy as I had hoped, but there was still a good variety of things to taste and buy.

I really wanted to buy a pheasant but having never prepared one from scratch before I opted out until I could have a master class from my Dad!

Seeing as we are off to a cheese and wine party later we picked up some tasty cheeses and a delicious pulled lamb and salsa verde roll and headed home to the warmth of our flat.

I did manage to get a big bunch of mistletoe grown on the estate for 50p (my bargain of the day!) so spent a few minutes putting this foliage up around our flat to add a romantic touch to the decorations.

In the new year, Love Food are doing two more festivals in Bristol – one aimed at parents and babies, and another dedicated to wine…two guesses which one I will be going to!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

