RSS Feed

Recipe – Chicken, Mushroom and Tarragon Pies

Phew – I can’t quite believe I have made it to the end of the week!

As I expect most people find in December, time has flown by and things have been busy with work, Christmas, friends, family…life in general really, hence the lack of action on this site.

But, the end is in sight with only one more week of term left to go then a nice long stretch to write my mountain of Christmas cards, buy and wrap presents, cook, see friends and catch up on some much needed sleep!

Last night was another sign that Christmas is coming…

…the chocolates were open! And it makes me happy knowing that this is the first of two tins!

Today’s recipe is one I made for a dinner party last weekend. These gorgeous little pies are perfect when it is cold outside, but by serving them in lovely individual dishes they still look a bit posh!

Tarragon isn’t a herb I use very often but it adds a lovely, subtle aniseed flavour.

Ingredients (makes enough for four servings)

3 chicken breasts, cut into bite-size pieces

A good glug of olive oil

1 leek, sliced

About 200g of mushrooms (chestnut mushrooms are best for this)

1 tablespoon of plain or corn flour

250ml of milk

200g of crème fraiche

A small bunch of tarragon, chopped

Salt and pepper

2 large potatoes

How to make it

  • Begin by browning off the chicken breasts in a large dish for a few minutes. Remove and set to one side
  • Heat the oil in the pan then add the leek and fry for 5 minutes until it has softened
  • Add the mushrooms and cook for another few minutes
  • Sprinkle over the flour and stir well
  • Add the milk bit by bit, stirring until you have a sauce
  • Add the crème fraiche and stir
  • Add the chicken back in and cook on a low heat for another 5 minutes
  • Season with salt and pepper to taste and stir in the chopped tarragon
  • Put the mixture into individual casserole dishes and set to one side
  • Now, preheat the oven to 180°C, Gas Mark 6
  • Put the two potatoes in the microwave for a few minutes just to slightly soften them
  • Grate the potatoes and put a small heaped pile on top of each pie
  • To make sure they crisp up well, add a small knob of butter on top and a pinch of salf and pepper
  • Cook in the oven for half an hour
  • Serve with greens and few roast potatoes

Have a great weekend! xxx

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

