RSS Feed

Recipe – Baked Salted Caramel Cheesecake

It was my school Christmas Fair this weekend and after a particularly rocking Friday night making a poster for my stall…

…I spent my Saturday morning listening to Christmas Carols, seeing children lining up to see Father Christmas and eating lots of festive food from the cake stand which was two stalls down from me – way too close for me to resist!

We had two of our closest friends over for dinner last night so I happily spent the rest of the afternoon in the kitchen cooking away, and tried two new recipes both of which turned out very well, and I will share them with you.

My friend brought over the finished pottery pieces that we painted a few weeks ago and it was lovely to see the results.

I will wait until I plant next year’s tomatoes to use the green sign, but I can’t wait to get the stocking decoration on display as I finish decorating our flat for Christmas!

Today’s recipe is one that I would order if I saw it on any menu in a restaurant. The key ingredient is the gorgeous dulce de leche sauce which is used in lots of South American desserts, and is both my and my Mum’s weakness! Häagen-Dazs do a Dulce de Leche ice cream and I remember when I lived in Spain, near a Häagen-Dazs ice cream parlour, and I would force my housemate Collette to take me for a scoop at all hours of the day!

The salted caramel and salted chocolate trend is quite love/hate, but for me it is definitely the first. The saltiness in this recipe comes from a sprinkling of salted peanuts before serving, so if you aren’t keen on this combination then just leave the nuts out!

Ingredients

220g of digestive biscuits

100g of melted butter or margarine

700g of cream cheese (such as Philadelphia)

120g of caster sugar

3 eggs

A small tin of dulce de leche (100g for the cheesecake filling, then another to decorate with a thin layer)

A handful (about 2 tablespoons) of salted peanuts, finely chopped

How to make it

  • Begin by greasing a spring-form cake tin
  • Bash up the digestive biscuits and pour the crumbs into a mixing bowl
  • Pour in the melted butter, mix well and then tip the mixture into the cake tin
  • Press the biscuit mix into the base of the tin and then place in the fridge to cool for at least half an hour
  • Now the cheesecake filling…in a mixing bowl, cream together the cream cheese and sugar until smooth
  • Add the eggs on at a time, mixing thoroughly each time
  • Stir in 100g of dulce de leche and mix
  • Pour this mixture over the chilled biscuit base, and bake in a pre-heated oven at 160°C, Gas Mark 3, for 40 minutes
  • The cake should be golden in colour and still have a slight wobble in the middle when cooked
  • Let the cheesecake cool for at least a few hours, or overnight
  • Before serving, top with dulce de leche and smooth out with a palette knife
  • Sprinkle with the salted peanuts, cut yourself a huge slice and enjoy!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. This looks incredible

    Reply
  2. mmmm, cheeeesecake! This one looks particularly tasty!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

