RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – Bauhinia, Clifton

This week called for a long overdue catch-up with three of my dearest friends, so we headed to this lovely Thai restaurant in Clifton which came highly recommended.

We were lucky enough to be able to take advantage of their meal deal which offered two courses for £8.90, and given the size and quality of the portions this proved to be a steal!

I started with the salmon fishcakes which were delicious and had just the right amount of spice for me. They had the lovely ‘sponginess’ (sorry, I can’t think of a better word to describe it!) that proper Thai fishcakes should have and you could really taste the salmon too.

Unfortunately, in my haste to begin eating my own, I managed to take really rubbish blurry pictures of my friends’ starters but their dishes (vegetable spring rolls and chicken satay skewers) were all very good too!

For my main, I opted for Nasi Goreng which is basically a really tasty rice dish packed full of lovely things like prawns, chicken, and vegetables with a lovely fragrant spice to it. I really enjoyed this although halfway through I had to admit defeat to my chopstick skills and just pick up a spoon!

Bath has a really good selection of Thai restaurants so it is a cuisine that I eat quite often and this restaurant was pretty special – lovely setting, great service and more importantly delicious food.

The only negative was that the selection of puddings was rather limited so we found ourselves moving on down the road to the local Zizzi for coffees and desserts. Here I discovered my new favourite after-dinner treat…

Sweet, crunchy dough sticks drizzled with honey, dusted with icing sugar and served with a little pot of melted chocolate for dipping….mmmmmmmmmm!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

