RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – The Raven, Bath

As the seasons change, so does the things I look for in a restaurant. In the summer, I like to sit outside, either in a beer garden or on the street to watch the world go by. Now, as the nights get darker and colder, cosiness is at the top of my list.

The Raven pub in Bath is a perfect choice in the winter months. We headed there last week for dinner to enjoy their speciality…pie!

This is pretty much the only thing served here, and they buy the delicious and locally made Pieminister pies which offer a great variety of fillings. I admire a pub or restaurant that is brave enough to only serve one type of food but do that particular food very well, and at The Raven they keep things simple; pie with a choice of chips or mash and a selection of gravies.

Being a CAMRA recommended pub, there is a good choice of ales here, and also several tasty ciders and perries.

I opted for the Thai Chook Pie, which is basically a thai green curry with chicken and sweet potato in a pie. I was a bit dubious as this doesn’t sound like it should work but it was absolutely delicious! I didn’t bother having a gravy with it, yet inside the pastry casing was enough fragrant sauce to dip my chips into.

Ian had the Steak and Raven Ale  Pie which had lovely big chunks of beef in a sauce made from the house ale. This was very flavoursome and hearty and complemented well by the Guinness gravy.

Our friends both had the very sweetly named Mr Porky Pie which was a lovely mix of West Country pork, bacon, apples, leeks and Somerset cider. Due to being a regular visitor to this pub, I have tried this pie too and all the ingredients in here are very complementary and taste like a proper pie should.

I always enjoy dinner here, and this visit was no exception. If you want a traditional pub atmosphere with good hearty food then The Raven will not disappoint. I am hoping the next time we visit they will have their lovely festive ales on tap too!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

