RSS Feed

Review – Flying Saucers Pottery Café

In search of something new and a little bit arty, my friends and I headed to Bristol for coffee and ceramics at Flying Saucers, located on the Triangle.

The shop itself is very cute, with lots of finished pieces on the wall for inspiration, and very friendly staff to help you. You pay £5 for the experience then each piece of pottery is individually priced and rages from a fiver up to about £50.

We started by selecting the pieces we wanted to paint. There was quite a selection to choose from, including tableware, vases, Christmas baubles and even a garden gnome! I opted for a vegetable sign and a stocking-shaped Christmas decoration, my friend Lucie chose a mug and some vegetable signs and my very artistic friend Hannah picked a large bowl to decorate.

Once we had our hot drinks, we began by wiping down our pieces then mixing colours and painting them on. I began with a couple of layers of green on my vegetable sign then using a pottery paint pen traced a line around the edge and then did the lettering. On the whole this was a very relaxing and chilled out experience, and a lovely thing to do whilst catching up with friends BUT…if like me you don’t have a very steady hand, then trying to concentrate hard enough to do lots of fiddly details on the pieces is quite stressful!

I finished up my sign with a few tomatoes (at least that is what they are meant to look like!) then my one of my favourite Spanish proverbs on the back which roughly translates to ‘full stomach, happy heart’ which I wholeheartedly agree with!

I then moved onto the Christmas stocking which ended up looking like it was painted by one of the children in my class…maybe I shall hang that one right at the back of the Christmas tree this year?!

My friend Lucie finished a lovely mug…

And two vegetable signs…

Meanwhile Hannah finished what I am sure will be a gorgeous fruit bowl when it has been fired and glazed.

Flying Saucers do several packages for birthday parties (adults and children) and hen nights, and I would recommend it to get your creative juices flowing. As a café, it is pretty simple but that isn’t really what you go for. It was a lovely way to spend a few hours with friends and even better to have something to show at the end of it.

I will post some pictures when I pick up my finished pieces in a week’s time.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

