RSS Feed

Recipe – Blondies

Well, I have made it to the end of my first term. It really has flown by and I have to say I am loving it – although I would be lying if I said I haven’t welcomed half term with open arms!

 Ian and I have booked a few days away in Prague so I have been to M&S today to get some money changed and I had the strangest exchange with the cashier…

Me: Hello can I have £200 of Czech currency please?

Cashier: It’s Czechoslovakia

Ummmmm, not for the last 20 years!!! She said it so straight-faced that I couldn’t really be bothered to argue but I do think she needs to brush up on her European history!

While I was in there I was pulled in by the Christmas food they have started stocking, and I couldn’t resist this gorgeous biscuit tin…which plays Christmas Carols when you twist it! I know, I know, it’s too early but it is currently half price (£5 instead of £10) so I justified it by convincing myself I was saving money!

Today’s recipe is from the first Hummingbird Bakery book with a few tweaks. I had a horrible visit to the dentist this week to get a porcelain veneer, which I am very pleased with, but as it is still rather tender I am having to eat soft food from one side of my mouth so these blondies (which are really just a white chocolate version of brownies) are just what the doctor dentist ordered!

Ingredients

180g of white chocolate roughly chopped (keep 30g to one side)

125g of butter or margarine

150g of caster sugar

2 eggs

1 ½ teaspoons of vanilla extract

200g of plain flour

A pinch of salt

120g of roughly chopped pecan nuts

How to make it

  • Begin by greasing your brownie/blondie tin and preheat the oven to 170°C, Gas Mark 3
  • Fill a saucepan halfway with boiling water and put on a low heat. Place a heatproof bowl over the top, making sure the bottom of the bowl isn’t touching the water in the pan, and into the bowl place 150g of the white chocolate and the butter
  • Stir occasionally until the two ingredients have melted and are smooth. At this point some of the oil separated slightly but don’t worry if this happens
  • Remove the bowl from the heat and mix in the caster sugar until incorporated
  • Add the eggs and vanilla extract. The Hummingbird book advises brisk stirring so the eggs don’t scramble but I found my mixture had cooled down enough at this point to not have to worry about this (slow baker?!)
  • Add the flour, salt, pecan nuts and the last bit of white chocolate and mix well
  • Pour this mixture into the tin and bake for 30-35 minutes
  • Enjoy on the sofa with a cup of tea!
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

