RSS Feed

Recipe – Glazed Gammon Steaks

Well, I’m back in one piece after a great few days away with my class, but with only a few hours sleep each night I have spent a large part of this weekend in bed!

I did however find time to go for a big country walk with Ian on Saturday to the gorgeous little village of Box, just outside of Bath. We both really want to find a country cottage to move to over the next few months so are starting to explore some surrounding places. One of the key requirements is a nice village pub so we combined our walk with a quick pit stop and half a cider to test out the local.

Today’s recipe is a tasty twist on how to serve a gammon steak. Don’t get me wrong – I do love this British pub classic in its original form served with chips, peas and an egg or a pineapple ring (or both if you are greedy like me!) but I also love trying to find new ways to tweak a recipe.

Ingredients

2 good sized gammon steaks

2-3 teaspoons of Chinese 5 spice mix

A good glug of olive oil

A pinch of chilli flakes (optional)

2 tablespoons of honey

2 teaspoons of soy sauce

How to make it

  • Rub the Chinese 5 spice into the gammon steaks on both sides
  • Heat the oil in a large frying pan on a medium to high heat then add the gammon steaks and cook for a few minutes on each side until browned
  • Add the chilli flakes, honey and soy sauce and continue to cook, turning the gammon steaks until the glaze has turned golden brown
  • Serve straight away with greens and potatoes or rice, ensuring any remaining juices in the pan are poured over the steaks
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

